High Impact Tutoring

The ESC Region 13 High Impact Tutoring Program provides COVID-19 learning recovery solutions that support acceleration. We aim to be your first call for high-quality resources, tools, training, and implementation support.

Already in a district?

View the upcoming HIT platform trainings and HIT Office Hours. Additional site-based virtual and in-person training is available. Please email Holly Salas or call 512-919-5162 for more information.

Not in a district?

Apply to become a tutor.

2022 High Impact Tutoring Summer Institute

Jul 26, 2022

The ESC Region 13 High Impact Tutoring Program provides COVID-19 learning recovery solutions that support acceleration. We aim to be your first call for high-quality resources, tools, training, and implementation support.

Product Training Courses

HIT Office Hours

Join the ESC Region 13 High Impact Program office hours to chat with Amplify, BookNook, and Zearn platform specialists.

Thursday 5/26/22, 10–11 am – REGISTER

Thursday 6/23/22, 10–11 am –REGISTER

Thursday 7/28/22, 10–11 am –REGISTER

Learn more about our office hours

Amplify Training

Wednesday 5/18/22, 4–7 pm – REGISTER

Thursday 6/9/22, 4–6:30 pm Virtual – REGISTER

Saturday 6/18/22, 9–11:30 am Virtual – REGISTER

Wednesday, 7/13/22, 4–6:30 pm REGISTER

Saturday, 7/16/22, 9–11:30 am Virtual – REGISTER

BookNook

Saturday 5/14/22, 9–11:30 am Virtual – REGISTER

Tuesday, 5/24/22, 4–6:30 pm Virtual – REGISTER

Saturday, 6/4/22, 9–11:30 am VirtualREGISTER

Tuesday, 6/14/22, 4–6:30 pm VirtualREGISTER

Saturday, 7/2/22, 9–11:30 am VirtualREGISTER

Wednesday, 7/27/22, 4–6:30 pm VirtualREGISTER

Zearn Training

Wednesday, 5/11/22, 4–7 pm VirtualREGISTER

Wednesday, 6/25/22, 9–11:30 am VirtualREGISTER

Wednesday, 7/20/22, 4–6:30 pm VirtualREGISTER

Saturday, 7/30/22, 9–11:30 am VirtualREGISTER

What is High Impact Tutoring?

Early data indicates that school closures and disruptions in SY19-20 and SY20-21 are likely to result in unfinished learning for many students statewide, making multi-year recovery and acceleration supports even more crucial. As LEAs consider how to best facilitate learning acceleration, many are considering high impact tutoring (HIT), as there is strong evidence that high impact tutoring is one of the most effective ways to increase learning gains for students.

High-impact tutoring programs have a few key characteristics:

  • Well-trained, consistent tutor (can be a teacher, paraprofessional, or teacher candidate) who builds a strong relationship with students
  • High-quality instructional material aligned to standards and core classwork
  • One-to-one or small group for individualized support (1-3 student max. ratio recommended)
  • Embedded in, or immediately before or after, the school day to maximize student access
  • At least three sessions per week for sustained support; Minimum of 30 minutes
  • Data-driven with tutors building sessions around student strengths and needs